Research Associates

Linda H. Aiken
Director, Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research
Claire M. Fagin Leadership Professor of Nursing
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Texas at Austin, 1973
Contact Information:
332R NEB
215-898-9759
laiken@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page, Sociology faculty page
Paul Allison
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1976
Contact Information:
581 McNeil
215-898-6717
allison@soc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Juan Pablo Atal
Assistant Professor of Economics

Ph.D., Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 2016

Contact Information:
466 McNeil
ataljp@econ.upenn.edu
Jere R. Behrman
Associate Director, Population Aging Research Center
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Economics
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1966
Contact Information:
229 McNeil
215-898-7704
jbehrman@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Kathryn H. Bowles
Director of the Center for Integrative Sciences in Aging
van Ameringen Chair in Nursing Excellence
Professor of Nursing
Ph.D., Nursing, University of Pennsylvania, 1996
215-898-0323
bowles@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page
Pamela Z. Cacchione
Associate Director, Center for Integrative Science in Aging
Ralston House Endowed Term Chair in Gerontological Nursing
Associate Professor of Geropsychiatric Nursing
Ph.D., Nursing Research, Saint Louis University, 1998
Contact Information:
418 Curie Blvd.
215-746-5472
pamelaca@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page
Daniel Aldana Cohen
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, New York University, 2016
Contact Information:
251 McNeil
dacoh@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Personal site
Angela Lee Duckworth
Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Psychology, University of Pennsylvania, 2006
Contact Information:
3701 Market St., Suite 209
215-898-1339
aduckworth@characterlab.org
Psychology faculty page, Personal site
Irma T. Elo
Director, Population Aging Research Center
Associate Chair, Department of Sociology
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Public Affairs and Demography, Princeton University, 1990
Contact Information:
243 McNeil
215-898-9162
popelo@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Google Scholar profile
Douglas Ewbank
Research Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, Princeton University, 1975
Contact Information:
245 McNeil
215-898-7999
ewbank@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Hanming Fang
Class of 1965 Term Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 2000
Contact Information:
429 McNeil
215-898-7767
hanming.fang@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Chenoa Flippen
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago 1999
Contact Information:
231 McNeil
215-898-5534
chenoa@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Michel Guillot
Associate Director for Training, Population Studies Center
Chair, Graduate Group Demography
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Demography and Sociology, University of Pennsylvania, 2000
Contact Information:
242 McNeil
215-573-3655
miguillo@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Morgan Hoke
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., Anthropology, Northwestern University, 2017
Contact Information:
429 University Museum
215-746-5162
mhoke@sas.upenn.edu
Said A. Ibrahim
Co-Director, VA HSR&D Center of Innovation for Health Equity Research and Promotion (CHERP)
Professor of Medicine
M.D., Medicine, Case Western Reserve University, 1993
M.P.H., Public Health, Harvard University, 1999
M.B.A., Executive Business Administration, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2016
Contact Information:
VA Medical Center Annex, Suite 202
215-823-5800
ibrahims@mail.med.upenn.edu
Joseph Kable
Baird Term Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Neuroscience, University of Pennsylvania, 2004
Contact Information:
Solomon Labs, 3720 Walnut St, Room C5
215-746-3873
kable@psych.upenn.edu
Psychology faculty page, Kable Lab
Sarah Kagan
Lucy Walker Honorary Term Professor of Gerontological Nursing
Ph.D., Nursing, University of California, San Francisco, 1994
Contact Information:
313 Fagin Hall
215-898-1316
skagan@nursing.upenn.edu
Jason Karlawish
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Professor of Neurology 
M.D., Medicine, Northwestern University, 1991
Contact Information:
3615 Chestnut Street
215-898-8997
Jason.Karlawish@uphs.upenn.edu
Medicine faculty page
Hans-Peter Kohler
Frederick J. Warren Professor of Demography
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 1997
Contact Information:
272 McNeil
215-898-7686
hpkohler@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Iliana Kohler
Research Assistant Professor of Population Studies
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, 2001
Contact Information:
482 McNeil
215-898-9922
iliana@pop.upenn.edu
Dirk Krueger
Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Minnesota, 1999
Contact Information:
511 McNeil
215-898-6691
dkrueger@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Matthew D. McHugh
Associate Director of the Center for Health Policy Outcomes
The Rosemarie Greco Term Endowed Associate Professorship in Advocacy
Professor of Nursing

J.D., Northeastern University School of Law, 2006
Ph.D., Nursing, University of Pennsylvania, 2004

Contact Information:
379 Fagin Hall
215-746-0205
mchughm@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page
Olivia S. Mitchell
Executive Director, Pension Research Council
Director, Boettner Center for Pensions and Retirement Research
International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans Professor
Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy
Professor of Insurance and Risk Management
Ph.D., Economics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1978
Contact Information:
3000 SH-DH
215-898-0424
mitchelo@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page
Mark D. Neuman
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
M.S.c., Health Policy Research, University of Pennsylvania, 2010
M.D., Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, 2004
Contact Information:
308 Blockley Hall
215-746-7468
neumanm@mail.med.upenn.edu
Hyunjoon Park
Korean Foundation Professor of Sociology
Professor of Education
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2005
Contact Information:
219 McNeil
215-898-0942
hypark@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Selected Works page
Emilio Alberto Parrado
Chair, Department of Sociology
Director, Latin America and Latino Studies Program
Dorothy Swaine Thomas Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago, 1997
Contact Information:
244 McNeil
215-898-7831
eparrado@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Mark V. Pauly
Bendheim Professor
Professor of Health Care Management
Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy
Ph.D., Economics, University of Virginia, 1967
Contact Information:
208 Colonial Penn Center
215-898-5411
pauly@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page
G. Adriana Perez
Assistant Professor of Nursing

Ph.D., Nursing and Healthcare Innovation, Arizona State University, 2009

Contact Information:
3820 Locust Walk, MB 003
215-746-1840
adrianag@nursing.upenn.edu
Daniel E. Polsky
Executive Director, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
Robert D. Eilers Professor of Health Care Management
Professor of Medicine
Ph.D., Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 1996
Contact Information:
Colonial Penn Center, Suite 210
215-573-5752
polsky@wharton.upenn.edu
LDI faculty page
Samuel H. Preston
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, Princeton University, 1968
Contact Information:
289 McNeil
215-746-5396
spreston@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
José-Victor Ríos-Rull
Lawrence R. Klein Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, Minnesota, 1990
Contact Information:
507 McNeil
215-898-7701
vr0j@econ.upenn.edu
Economics Faculty page, Personal site
Paul Rosenbaum
Robert G. Putzel Professor of Statistics
Ph.D., Statistics, Harvard University, 1980
Contact Information:
473 Huntsman
215-898-3120
rosenbap@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page, Personal site
Jason Schnittker
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Indiana University, 2001
Contact Information:
220 McNeil
215-573-7514
jschnitt@ssc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Heather Schofield
Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Assistant Professor of Operations, Information and Decisions

P.h.D., Business Economics, Harvard University, 2014

hschof@upenn.edu
Theodore G. Schurr
Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., Anthropology, Emory University, 1998
Contact Information:
344 Museum
215-573-7632
tgschurr@sas.upenn.edu
Anthropology faculty page, Genographic Project profile
Herbert L. Smith
Director, Population Studies Center
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Michigan, 1982
Contact Information:
230 McNeil
215-898-7768
hsmith@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Sarah Tishkoff
David and Lyn Silfen University Professor of Genetics and Biology
Ph.D., Genetics, Yale University, 1996
Contact Information:
428 Clinical Research Building
215-746-2670
tishkoff@mail.med.upenn.edu
Biology faculty page, Genetics faculty page
Petra Todd
Edward J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Chicago, 1996
Contact Information:
520 McNeil
215-898-4084
ptodd@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
John Q. Trojanowski
Co-Director, Center for Neurodegenerative Disease Research
Director, Institute on Aging
Director, Alzheimer's Disease Core Center
Co-Director, Marian S. Ware Alzheimer's Drug Discovery Program
William Maul Measey-Truman G. Schnabel, Jr. MD Professor of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology
Ph.D., Neuroanatomy, Tufts University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences 1976
Contact Information:
HUP, Maloney 3rd Floor
215-662-6399
trojanow@mail.med.upenn.edu
School of Medicine faculty page
Kevin G. Volpp
Director, LDI Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics
Vice Chairman for Health Policy, Dept. of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Janet and John Haas President's Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Professor, Health Care Management
Ph.D., Health Economics, Public Policy and Management, University of Pennsylvania, 1998
M.D., Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, 1998
Contact Information:
1232 Blockley
215-573-0270
volpp70@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page
Rachel M. Werner
Professor of Medicine and Health Care Management

M.D. Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, 1998
P.h.D., Department of Health Care Management, The Wharton School, 2007

Contact Information:
1204 Blockley Hall 
215-898-9278
rwerner@upenn.edu
General Internal Medicine
Tukufu Zuberi
Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations
Professor of Sociology
Professor of Africana Studies
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago, 1989
Contact Information:
246 McNeil
215-573-5169
tukufu@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Selected Works page, History Detectives